Tags

, , , , ,

I keep a sketch book in my purse now, so that when I’m waiting to pick my kids up from school, or activities,  I can draw something – anything!

The other day I was looking through it, and found this sketch my son had drawn. He is my hero when it comes to drawing. I love his style and the freedom that he draws with. Although lately, I have noticed that “freedom” changing day by day as he struggles to make things, people, animals “look” realistic or the way “they are supposed to look” “the way everyone draws them”. He tends to erase more and spend a little more time working and reworking things.

I have quite an archive of his drawings that I like to look at from time to time, just to inspire me, but try as I might, I can never get that same look, that casual child-like style that seems effortless. When I do it, it just seems wrong or messy.

My son and I are trying to work on a book together and this is his character (more or less) for the book. I’ll keep you posted on how it’s looking as time goes on.

