I was in Opus (http://opusartsupplies.com/) the other day buying a new journal (any of you that live in the Lower Mainland of Vancouver or in Kelowna, know this is the “go to” place for art supplies) when I came across this free online workshop being put on by Strathmore (http://www.strathmoreartist.com/) the paper company. I joined up and have already viewed the first two lessons for the “Mixed Media Mark Making Techniques” Workshop. The artist, Traci Bautista, has some very interesting and innovative ways of marking paper that could be used in many different ways – from Journals and Scrapbooks to sculpture and paintings. There is quite an on-line community of artists on the site and I’ve already made contact with a local artist living in White Rock.

I’m really looking forward to the Watercolour Sketching, as I found recently that I do love watercolor in theory but am quite bad at it in practice. So I hope to pick up a few tips here.

The workshops have started as of January 1, but we are only two weeks into the first one and there is a neat-sounding one starting in May called Force Drawing Technique that I am also looking forward to.

Did I mention it was free?

