Lately I feel like I haven’t been drawing much, but I’ve been creative. I am working a bunch on my graphic design business but I have also been quilting and knitting. I have been a knitter and crocheter off and on since I was a teenager, but I have never tried quilting, until recently.

Since I found Spoonflower (www.spoonflower.com) and Umbrella Prints (www.umbrellaprints.com.au) online though, the world of sewing and quilting has become more enticing. At Spoonflower you can design and print your own fabric.

It opens up a whole load of new gift ideas. For example, at Christmas, I gave my nephews their favorite dessert – Nana’s jam tart recipe printed on tea towels. For a girlfriend, I was able to give her a present of her recently deceased Grandmother’s recipes printed on tea towels. I have also taken drawings that my kids have done and printed them onto material for pillows. Not only can you make your own material, but there is a veritable treasure trove of other people’s designs to choose from in a wide array of fabric choices. With these, I have made custom designed pillows and custom quilts for my daughter and son.

When I saw through Elise Cripe’s blog (eliseblaha.typepad.com) that Umbrella Prints (www.umbrellaprints.com.au) was having a trimmings competition (www.umbrellaprints.blogspot.ca), I couldn’t wait to try my hand at it. I’m not a very accomplished sewer, that is my Mum. And of course you may consider it boring to make a quilt with trimmings but actually the amount of material seemed just right to make a baby quilt for the new great niece in my life. Check out my quilt.

IMG_0388IMG_0507 IMG_0477

It was seriously made with only 12 small pieces of fabric and a vintage duvet cover I found at the Thrift store, plus some binding I made. It came together pretty easy and I like the neutral colors. I doubt that making a quilt is very innovative, but I really couldn’t think of anything better than making something for a little girl to wrap herself up in and drag around for the next 4-6 years.

I have struggled a bit with the drawing thing, and trying to find time to be creative. I’ve been taking some Skillshare (www.skillshare.com) classes online. I start and get about 3/4 of the way through, but never quite finish. I always seem to learn something though.

So I have been “being creative” and trying to stretch my brain, but I seem to lose interest pretty fast sitting in front of the computer for too long. I think that’s why I like getting up and doing something a bit more creative physically, like knitting or quilting. I think that stepping out into another creative outlet is just as good as trying to draw everyday. I know it won’t make me a better drawer and maybe I’ll never be a really great drawer, but I hope I’ll always be creative, whether it’s working on a new logo, trying a new recipe, knitting a sweater or making a baby quilt from a few scraps of fabric.

